Steam boats and barges first appeared in Poznań in 1883. At the time, the river port was small and modestly equipped. To increase the revenues of both the port and the city, the authorities decided to upgrade the port. To that end, in 1902, they launched the construction of a major transhipment facility along Szyperska Street. The port was fitted with hoists, cranes, halls, a railway siding, granaries, private storage facilities and a harbour master’s office. Fitted with state-of-the-art equipment, the transhipment facility (north of Estkowskiego Street) had the capacity to handle approximately 80 barges at one time. The modernisation turned Poznań into a vibrant trading hub. Sections of the paved wharf can still be seen to the north of Międzymoście Square.