This peripherally located church has a unique history. It was established after 1170, when Duke Mieszko III the Old brought the Order of St. John to the site. The church is one of Poland’s oldest brick and mortar buildings. It once housed a hospital in which the friars treated pilgrims travelling along St. Jacob’s Path on their way to the Poznań and Gniezno cathedrals. The names of the nearby districts of Malta and Komandoria refer to the Mediterranean island on which the order was based and to the Commander who managed the order’s land.